Pescatarian: Pescatarian recipes include plant-based foods, fish, eggs, and dairy.
Vegetarian: Vegetarian recipes focus on plant-based ingredients, with the inclusion of dairy and eggs.
Vegan: Vegan recipes are plant-based, and exclude all meat, poultry, fish, dairy products, eggs and animal by-products such as honey.
Gluten-Free*: Gluten is a name used to describe specific proteins in certain grains. Gluten-free recipes on The Domestic Geek exclude wheat, barley, rye, and related cereal grains such as spelt or kamut.
**Important: For those with gluten intolerance or sensitivity, certified gluten-free oats are considered safe for the majority of people. However, some individuals may not be able to tolerate oats. Before introducing oats into your diet, it is important to discuss this with your Registered Dietitian and Doctor.
Are oats gluten-free?
Oats are inherently gluten-free but they are sometimes processed in the same facility as wheat so if you suffer from a gluten allergy or simply prefer to avoid gluten, it’s important to check the packaging to ensure that the oats you’re consuming were produced in a gluten-free facility.
For those with gluten intolerance or sensitivity, certified gluten-free oats are considered safe for the majority of people. However, some individuals may not be able to tolerate oats. Before introducing oats into your diet, it is important to discuss this with your Registered Dietitian and Doctor.
Is soy sauce gluten-free?
Most soy sauce contains gluten unless otherwise specified on the bottle so we’ve left soy sauce out of our gluten-free recipes. Soy sauce can always be replaced with gluten-free tamari in any recipe that calls for it.
Is Parmesan cheese vegetarian?
Parmesan cheese is typically made with rennet which is an animal product so it is not considered vegetarian. As a result, we have not included any recipes that call for Parmesan cheese in our vegetarian or vegan recipes. There are now vegan Parmesan alternatives on the market that can be swapped in if you want to replace it in an otherwise vegetarian recipe.
Is Worcestershire sauce vegetarian/vegan?
Worcestershire sauce is often made with anchovies so it is not recommended in a vegetarian or vegan diet. That said, there are several vegan Worcestershire sauces now available.
Is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free?
Worcestershire sauce is often made with malt vinegar or soy sauce so it is not considered gluten-free. That said, there are several gluten-free Worcestershire sauces now available.
Can I substitute dairy milk for almond or soy milk?
Absolutely. In most recipes on the site, dairy milk can be easily substituted for almond or soy milk.
How is the nutritional information for each recipe calculated?
The analysis for each recipe is done using reputable nutrition analysis software. Factors including product types, and the way ingredients are processed may change the nutritional information for each recipe. Thedomesticgeek.com always strives to provide accurate information, but all information should be considered an estimate.
If you have questions about the nutritional information for a specific recipe, please feel free to Contact Us.
Are the calories listed per serving?
All of the calorie counts listed on The Domestic Geek site are displayed per serving.
Where can I purchase recipe eBooks
Recipe eBooks can be accessed by clicking the Shop button in the navigation bar.
Is my credit card information safe?
All of the purchases made on this site are facilitated by Shopify which is extremely secure and considered one of the safest ways to shop online. We do not store your credit card information on the site.